top of page

Realistic Resolutions

Updated: Jan 7, 2019




So, it’s 2019 and we’re blessed to see another great year before us. This is the time that a lot of us (definitely not all of us) make New Year resolutions. Resolutions that we resolve to complete and resolutions that fall by the wayside around mid-February. For me, resolutions are like a battle with no end in sight. The harder the resolve, the harder it is to attain the goal.




LIGHT BULB MOMENT, DEE! Change your focus and make more attainable resolutions! I remember telling my kids, ‘Winning the war is the goal. Choose your battles!’ With that thought in mind, I’m on my way down the yellow brick road of realistic realizations!



  • I realize that . . . Just because I began my weight loss process at 9:00 a.m. this morning and the fact that it’s now noon and I have not lost any weight is ok. The excess baggage didn’t present itself overnight and it will take a little more time for it to manifest. I promise to be consistent with a good eating and exercise plan. If I fall off the wagon, I promise to get up, shake myself off and get right back at it!!

  • I realize that . . . Just because I view my way of kitchen interaction as ideal, does not mean that because Arnold doesn’t close the cabinet doors make his way wrong. It makes us different. Yes it irritates me to no end, but it’s not a deal-breaker situation. I promise to quietly close the cabinets or better yet, let him finish his cooking process before I enter his space!

  • I realize that . . . I am in charge of my stress level. Stress, that moment when I move from “I GOT THIS’ to ‘I DON’T WANT THIS AND WILL NOT HAVE IT’ (while stomping my feet) mode! I promise to examine such opportunities and determine if they are life threatening before reacting. These are moments that I promise to give to God and let Him handle as He will be up all night anyway.

These are a few realizations that we encounter and are times when we can choose our battles. I can choose not to panic when my weight is not coming off as soon as I want! If I do so, I lose the weight war! I can choose to not snap at my husband because 12 of the 18 cabinets are open or I can decide to step away from the kitchen until he’s done.

If I snap at him, I lose the marital peace battle! I can give in to stressful situations or I can understand when some things are completely out of my control. If I give in to stress, I lose the battle for mental and physical health which affects the whole family!



This year I promise to be selective of the Battles that I wish to fight! I will fight with the wisdom and vigor of a General who is on a winning mission. I promise to keep in mind the goal which is to win the war.




DEE HOWARD

The Book of Dee


47 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page